Information & Tools for Institutions

Home > For Institutions > PreK-16 > STEM Pipeline Fund > Governor's STEM Advisory Council > Members

Governor's STEM Advisory Council - Members

Ex Officio Members

  • Timothy P. Murray, Lt. Governor; Chairman, STEM Advisory Council
  • Greg Bialecki, Secretary of Housing and Economic Development
  • Joanne Goldstein, Secretary, Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development
  • Matt Malone, Secretary, Executive Office of Education
  • Richard Freeland, Commissioner, Department of Higher Education
  • Mitchell Chester, Commissioner, Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
  • Sherri Killins, Commissioner, Department of Early Education and Care
  • Robert Caret, President, University of Massachusetts

Legislative Members

  • (Open), State Representative, Goddard Council Co-Chair
  • Karen Spilka, State Senator, Senate President’s Appointee
  • Thomas Conroy, State Representative, Speaker of the House’s Appointee
  • Thomas McGee, State Senator, Goddard Council Co-Chair


  • Alex Sanchez, Senior Principal Systems Engineer, Raytheon Company
  • Barnas Monteith, Chairman, MA State Science and Engineering Fair; Managing Partner and Co-Founder, Advanced Diamond Solutions, Inc.
  • Bruce Johnson, Director, Technology and Innovation, MITRE
  • Christos Zahopoulos, Ph.D., Executive Director, Northeastern University Center for STEM Education
  • Dennis Berkey, President, WPI
  • Gary DiCamillo, Chairman, Mass. Business Roundtable’s Education and Workforce Development Task Force; Partner, Eaglepoint Advisors, LLC
  • *Ioannis Miaoulis, President and Director, Museum of Science
  • Isa Zimmerman, IKZ Advisors, STEM Education and Leadership
  • *James Brosnan, Superintendent, Northern Berkshire Vocational Regional School District
  • *J.D. Chesloff, Executive Director, Massachusetts Business Roundtable
  • Jim Stanton, Director, Partnerships for a Skilled Workforce, Inc.
  • *John Hodgman, Lecturer, Gordon Institute at Tufts University
  • *Joyce L. Plotkin, President, The DIGITS Project
  • Kevin O’Sullivan, President and CEO, Massachusetts Biomedical Initiatives
  • Larry Maier (deceased), President and Owner, Peerless Precision
  • Marcy Reed, Senior Vice President, National Grid
  • Mark DiNapoli, President and General Manager, Suffolk Construction Northeast Division
  • Mary Grant, President, MCLA
  • Mary McLaughlin, Vice President Greater Boston Region/South, Comcast
  • *Melinda Boone, Superintendent, Worcester Public Schools
  • Michael Tamasi, Principal, Boston Centerless/AccuRounds
  • *Rebecca Cusick, 4th Grade Teacher, Fall River Public Schools
  • Susan Windham-Bannister, President and CEO, Massachusetts Life Sciences Center
  • Steve Vinter, Engineering and Site Director, Google Inc.
  • Ted Acworth, Founder and CEO, Artaic Innovative Mosaic
  • Yvonne Spicer, Vice President-Advocacy for Educational Partnerships, Museum of Science
  • Zorica Pantic, President, Wentworth Institute of Technology

*Executive Committee Member

STEM Council Staff

  • David Cedrone, Executive Director of the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council and Associate Director for Economic and Workforce Development at the Dept. of Higher Education
  • Adam Freudberg, Director of Operations and Assistant Director of Policy, Office of Lt. Governor Timothy P. Murray
  • Marissa Cole, Deputy Chief of Staff, Executive Office of Education,
  • Keith Connors, Senior Program Manager of the STEM Pipeline Fund



Contact Us | Subscribe to Our E-Newsletter | Email the Webmaster | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Accessibility Statement

Massachusetts Department of Higher Education. All Rights Reserved. ©2000-2014
One Ashburton Place, Room 1401, Boston, MA 02108   617-994-6950