State Partners & Schools We Serve

GEAR UP Students at Go Public in Holyoke

GEAR UP serves students in seven districts across the state. For information on our state partners and contact information for each school, click the links below.

Boston

East Boston High School   

86 White Street
East Boston, MA 02128

Partner: American Student Assistance

GEAR UP Contacts:
Grace Ajayi, Academic Support Supervisor
Phone: (857) 319 1484 Email: gajayi@asa.org
Tanner Senter, Education Advisor
Phone: (617) 429 7295 Email: tsenter@asa.org
Maryann Turner, Education Advisor
Phone: (857) 488 0243 Email: mturner@asa.org

Julie Kimball
Program Manager, Talent Search and GEAR UP
100 Cambridge Street, Suite 1600
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 728 4685 Email: jkimball@asa.org

Website: www.ebhsjets.net

Umana Academy   

312 Border Street
East Boston, MA 02128

Partner: American Student Assistance

GEAR UP Contact:
Grace Ajayi, Academic Support Supervisor
Phone: (857) 319 1484 Email: gajayi@asa.org
Elsie Palmieri, Education Advisor
Phone: (617) 645 1923 Email: epalmieri@asa.org

Julie Kimball
Program Manager, Talent Search and GEAR UP
100 Cambridge Street, Suite 1600
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 728 4685 Email: jkimball@asa.org

Website: bostonpublicschools.org/umana

Holyoke

Holyoke High School   

500 Beech St.
Holyoke, MA 01040

Partner: Valley Opportunity Council

GEAR UP Contact:
Carmelo Solivan, GEAR UP Advisor
Phone: (413) 896-5201
Email: Csolivan@valleyopp.com

Website: www.hps.holyoke.ma.us/hhs

Peck Middle School   

1916 Northampton St.
Holyoke, MA. 01040

Partner: Valley Opportunity Council

GEAR UP Contact:
Mary Colon, GEAR UP Advisor I
Phone: (413) 204 4542
Email: MColon@valleyopp.com
Carmen Tavares, GEAR UP Advisor II
Phone: (413) 218 1514
Email: clindsay@valleyopp.com
Hillisa Byer, GEAR UP Middle School Supervisor
Phone: (413) 204 1088 Email: hbyer@valleyopp.com

Website: www.hps.holyoke.ma.us/peck.htm

Lawrence

Lowell

Lowell High School   

Partner: Department of Higher Education

GEAR UP Contact:
Colleen Winn, Director, Pre-Collegiate TRiO Programs and GEAR UP Massachusetts
Middlesex Community College
33 Kearney Square, Lowell, MA 01852
Phone: (978) 656 3401 (Office MCC)
(978) 937 8919 (Office Lowell High School)
(781) 760 4417 (Cell Phone)
Email: winnc@middlesex.mass.edu

Genesis Torti, Coordinator/Advisor, Grades 11-12
Phone: (978) 275-6303
Email: tortig@middlesex.mass.edu
Jeanette Racine, M.Ed., Educational Advisor, Grades 11-12
Phone: (978) 937 8916
Email: racinej@middlesex.mass.edu
Deborah Linnehan, Educational Advisor, Grade 9-10
Phone: (978) 866 6450
Email: linnehand@middlesex.mass.edu
Analiz Santiago, Administrative Assistant, TRiO and GEAR UP
Phone: (978) 937 8913
Email: santiagoa@middlesex.mass.edu

Website: lhs.lowell.k12.ma.us/pages/Lowell_High

Pyne Arts Middle School   

Partner: Department of Higher Education

GEAR UP Contact:
Colleen Winn, Director, Pre-Collegiate TRiO Programs and GEAR UP Massachusetts
Middlesex Community College
33 Kearney Square, Lowell, MA 01852
Phone: (978) 656 3401 (Office MCC)
(978) 937 8919 (Office Lowell High School)
(781) 760 4417 (Cell Phone)
Email: winnc@middlesex.mass.edu

Susan Perkins, Coordinator/Tutor
Phone: (508) 801 3623
Email: perkinss@middlesex.mass.edu

Website: pynearts.lowell.k12.ma.us/pages/Pyne_Arts_School

New Bedford

New Bedford High School   

Partner: Seven Hills Behavioral Health

GEAR UP Contact:
Suzanne M. Audette, Director of GEAR UP Program and the Educational Enhancements Centers
Phone: (508) 998 0078
Email: saudette@sevenhills.org

Marlene Sabeh, GEAR UP Advisor
Phone: (508) 997 4511 x2460
Email: msabeh@sevenhills.org
Veronica Martinez, New Bedford High School Parent/Community Liaison
Phone: (508) 997 4511 x2460
Email: vmartinez@sevenhills.org

Website: www.edlinesites.net/pages/New_Bedford_High

Normandin Middle School   

Partner: Seven Hills Behavioral Health

GEAR UP Contact:
Suzanne M. Audette, Director of GEAR UP Program and the Educational Enhancements Centers
Phone: (508) 998 0078
Email: saudette@sevenhills.org

Brooke Michaud, GEAR UP Advisor
Email: bmichaud@sevenhills.org

Office phone: 508-985-4300 ext. 375

Website: www.edlinesites.net/pages/Normandin_Middle_School

Springfield

Putnam Vocational Academy   

1300 State St.
Springfield, MA 01109

Partner: Valley Opportunity Council

GEAR UP Contact:
Jean Adams, GEAR UP High School Supervisor
Phone: (413) 530-1225
Email: JAdams@valleyopp.com

Website: springfieldpublicschools.com/schools/putnam

Chestnut Accelerated Middle Schools   

355 Plainfield St.
Springfield, MA 01107

Partner: Valley Opportunity Council

GEAR UP Contact:
Mary Colon, GEAR UP Advisor (South & North)
Phone: (413) 204 4542
Email: mcolon@valleyopp.com
Wendy Reynolds, GEAR UP Advisor (TAG)
Phone: (413) 750 2333 x1176
Email: wreynolds@valleyopp.com
Hillisa Byer, GEAR UP Middle School Supervisor
Phone: (413) 204 1088 Email: hbyer@valleyopp.com

Website:
North springfieldpublicschools.com/schools
/chestnut-north

South springfieldpublicschools.com/schools
/chestnut-south

Talented & Gifted (TAG) springfieldpublicschools.com/schools/chestnut-tag

Central High School   

1840 Roosevelt Ave.
Springfield, MA 01109

Partner: Valley Opportunity Council

GEAR UP Contact:
Channing Calcasola, GEAR UP Advisor I
Phone: (413) 787 7085, Cell: (413) 272 9719
Email: ccalcasola@valleyopp.com
Myles Sanders, GEAR UP Advisor II
Phone: (413) 222 1854
Email: msanders@valleyopp.com
Heidi Dufresne, GEAR UP High School Supervisor
Phone: (413) 478 2440
Email: hdufresne@valleyopp.com

Website: www.springfieldcentral.com

Duggan Academy   

1015 Wilbraham Rd.
Springfield, MA 01109

Partner: Valley Opportunity Council

GEAR UP Contact:
Erica Greene, GEAR UP Advisor II
Phone: (413) 459 2324
Email: egreene@valleyopp.com
Hillisa Byer, GEAR UP Middle School Supervisor
Phone: (413) 204 1088 Email: hbyer@valleyopp.com

Website: www.springfieldpublicschools.com/schools/john-j-duggan-academy

Worcester

North High School   

Partner: Massachusetts Education and Careers Opportunities (MassEdCo)

GEAR UP Contact:
Taryn Tomkins, Director
Phone: (508) 368 4616
Email: ttomkins@massedco.org

Rachelle Lappinen, Grades 11 & 12 Advisor
Email: rlappinen@massedco.org
Veronica Alache, Grades 11 & 12 Advisor
Email: valache@massedco.org
Buffie Whittaker, Grade 10 Advisor
Email: bwhittaker@massedco.org
Linda Graham, Grade 9 Advisor
Email: lgraham@massedco.org

Website: http://north.worcesterschools.org

Worcester East Middle School   

Partner: Massachusetts Education and Careers Opportunities (MassEdCo)

GEAR UP Contact:
Phone: (508) 753 7642

Joe Teixeira, GEAR UP Advisor
Email: jteixeira@massedco.org

Website: http://wems.worcesterschools.org/