STEM Nexus: Connecting Massachusetts' STEM Community

Home > Get Involved > Networks

STEM Networks

The Regional STEM Networks bring together public and private K-12 schools and districts, public and private higher education institutions, business and industry, regional employment/workforce investment boards and non-profit organizations around STEM to address local education and workforce needs. Each network is managed by an executive director and housed in either an institution of higher education or a regional employment board. As a regional system, managed by the Department of Higher Education under the direction of the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council, the networks play a key function in implementing the goals of STEM Plan 2.0 by coordinating and promoting collaborations of STEM programs, projects and partners. The networks regularly communicate information about funding opportunities, events, announcements, and training sessions. Funding for the networks comes from the STEM Pipeline Fund.

There are currently nine Regional STEM Networks: Berkshire, Pioneer Valley, Central, Metro West, Northeast, Metro North, Boston, Southeast, and Cape Cod (launching FY15).

Choose a region from the map or click on the links above for more information.

Map of Massachusetts showing STEM Network regions

Berkshire | Pioneer Valley | Central | MetroWest |
Northeast | MetroNorth | Boston | Southeast | Cape & Islands


Berkshire Network

Contacts

Monica Joslin, Director
Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts
P: 413-662-5242
E: mjoslin@mcla.edu

Christopher Himes, Program Manager
P: 413-662-5222
E: C.Himes@mcla.edu

Website

http://www.mcla.edu/pipeline


Pioneer Valley Network

Contact:

Jeff Hayden, Chair
Holyoke Community College
E: jhayden@hcc.edu

Mort Sternheim, Director/Principal Investigator
University of Massachusetts Amherst
P: (413) 545-1908
E: mort@umassk12.net

Marie Silver, Project Manager
P: (413) 545-0734
E: msilver@umassk12.net

Website:

http://www.pvstem.net


Central Network

Contact:

Karin LeBeau, Executive Director
University of Massachusetts Medical School
P: 508-856-1529
E: Karin.Lebeau@umassmed.edu

Website:

http://www.umassmed.edu/rsrc/CentralMASTEMPipelineNetwork


Metro West Network

Contact:

Kevin Thurston, Executive Director
Metro South/West Regional Employment Board
for the MetroWest STEM Educational Network (MSEN)
P: 508-281-6910 x.6
E: kthurston1@framingham.edu

Website:

http://www.framingham.edu/stem


Northeast Network

Contact:

Judith Boccia, Director
Office of School Partnerships
University of Massachusetts Lowell
P: 978-934-4661
E: Judith_boccia@uml.edu

Marjorie Dennis, Program Manager
Office of School Partnerships
University of Massachusetts Lowell
P: 978-934-4666
E: Marjorie_Dennis@uml.edu

Website:

http://nestemnet.org / http://nestemnet.info


Metro North Network

Contact:

Meelynn Wong, Associate Director
Metro North Regional Employment Board
P: (617) 871-1115
E: mwong@mnreb.org

Website:

http://mnreb.org/STEM.php

 

 


Boston Network

Contact:

Julia di Bonaventura, STEM Coordinator
Boston Private Industry Council
P: (617) 488-1380
E: julia.dibonaventura@bostonpic.org

Website:

http://bostonstemnetwork.org/

 


Southeast Network

Contact:

Stacey Kaminski, Executive Director
Connect Partnership
P: 508-531-1437
E: Stacey.Kaminski@connectsemass.org

Katherine Honey
STEM Coordinator
E: khoney@comcast.net

Website:

http://www.connectsemass.org/stem

 


Cape Cod Network

Contact:

Jill Neumayer-DePiper, Director
Cape Cod Community College
P: 508-362-2131 x4459
E: jneumayer@capecod.edu

Website:

 

This website is supported by the STEM Pipeline Fund, a state trust account administered by the Massachusetts Department of Higher Education to support STEM initiatives.