STEM Nexus: Connecting Massachusetts' STEM Community

STEM Networks

Begun in 2004, the state’s Regional STEM Networks serve as hubs for connecting educators, community leaders and industry partners to further excite and energize students about opportunities in STEM subjects. These networks are among the longest standing STEM Networks in the country.

Each network is managed by an executive director and housed in either an institution of higher education or a regional employment board. Managed by the Department of Higher Education under the direction of the STEM Advisory Council, the networks play a key role in cultivating interest and engagement in STEM activities in their regions and implementating the priorities of the STEM Advisory Council.

For more information on the FY17 grant to support the state's Regional STEM Network, go to Current Projects.

STEM Week 2018: October 22–26

In order to highlight the connection of strong STEM education to a talented and skilled workforce, Governor Baker and Lt. Governor Polito, in collaboration with the STEM Advisory Council, are planning a statewide “STEM Week” from October 22-26, 2018.

For more information or to submit ideas for events, please contact your regional STEM Network Manager. For a full list of STEM Week Partner Organizations and more information, please reference the STEM Week press release.

  Map of Massachusetts showing STEM Network regions

Berkshire | Pioneer Valley | Central | Metro West | Northeast | Metro North | Boston | Southeast | Cape Cod


Berkshire Network

Contacts

Monica Joslin, Network Director
Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts
(413) 662-5242
mjoslin@mcla.edu

Shannon Zayac, Project Manager
(413) 662-5222
Shannon.Zayac@mcla.edu

 

 

 

 


Pioneer Valley Network*

Contacts

Jeff Hayden, Network Director
Holyoke Community College
(413) 552-2587
jhayden@hcc.edu

*This network is currently inactive

 

 

 

 


Central Network

Contact:

Kathy Chen, Executive Director
The STEM Education Center at WPI
(508) 831-6221
kcchen@wpi.edu

Terry Adams, Project Manager
(508) 831-5198
tadams@wpi.edu

 

 

 

 


Metro West Network

Contact:

Margaret Carroll, Network Director
Framingham State University
(508) 626-4720
mcarroll@framingham.edu

Irene Porro, Project Manager
Framingham State University
(508) 626-4056
iporro@framingham.edu

 

 

 

 


Northeast Network

Contact:

Christine Shaw, Ph.D., Co-Director
Merrimack College
(781) 983-0791
shawc@merrimack.edu

Gail Gasparich, Co-Director
Salem State University
352 Lafayette St.
Salem, MA 01970
(978) 542-6265
ggasparich@salemstate.edu


Metro North Network

Contact:

Chris Albrizio-Lee, Network Director
Metro North Regional Employment Board
(617) 864-1524
clee@mnreb.org

Ben Christensen, Project Manager
(617) 864-1550
bchristensen@mnreb.org


Boston Network

Contact:

Alysia Ordway, Principal Investigator
Boston Private Industry Council
(617) 488-1321
alysia.ordway@bostonpic.org

Hilary Brayton, Network Director
Boston Private Industry Council
(617) 488-1335
Hilary.Brayton@bostonpic.org


Cape Cod Network

Contact:

Bridgette Burger, Network Director
Cape Cod Community College
(508) 362-2131 , x4459
bburger@capecod.edu


Southeast Network

Contact:

Stacey Kaminski, Executive Director
(508) 531-1437
stacey.kaminski@connectsemass.org

Katherine Honey, Network Coordinator
(508) 215-7958
khoney@comcast.net

This website is supported by the STEM Pipeline Fund, a state trust account administered by the Massachusetts Department of Higher Education to support STEM initiatives.