STEM Nexus: Connecting Massachusetts' STEM Community

Home > Council Members

Governor's STEM Advisory Council Members

STEM Council Co-Chairs

Congressman Joe Kennedy

Congressman Kennedy
Sworn in as Honorary Co-Chair in May 2013, Congressman Kennedy serves the Fourth District of Massachusetts in Congress. Having dedicated his career to public service, Joe brings a firm commitment to social justice and economic opportunity to the U.S. House of Representatives. Elected in November of 2012, he represents a diverse district that spans from the suburbs of Boston to the more industrial towns of Massachusetts’ South Coast.

Prior to seeking office, Joe served the Commonwealth of Massachusetts as an Assistant District Attorney in both the Middlesex County and Cape and Island’s District Attorneys’ Offices. A graduate of Harvard Law, he was an active member of the school’s Legal Aid Bureau – a pro-bono law firm that provided legal services to low-income families around Boston. During that time he also co-founded an afterschool program for at-risk youth in the Boston area with his wife, Lauren.

Earlier in his career Joe served as a member of the Peace Corps in the Dominican Republic where he designed and implemented an economic development project that helped create jobs and increase the standard of living in an isolated community near Puerto Plata. Joe has also worked as an international development analyst for the United Nations’ Millennium Project and as an anti-poverty consultant abroad. He is fluent in Spanish and currently sits on the House Committee on Foreign Affairs, as well as the House Committee on Science and Technology.

Born and raised in Massachusetts, Joe holds a bachelors degree in Management Science and Engineering from Stanford University. (source)

Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D

Jeffrey Leiden
Dr. Leiden is the Chairman, President and CEO of Vertex Pharmaceuticals. He has served as a member of Vertex's board of directors since 2009. Dr. Leiden has more than 20 years of scientific, commercial and financial experience in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries as well as clinical and scientific experience in academia as a practicing cardiologist and molecular biologist.

Prior to joining Vertex, Dr. Leiden was a Managing Director for Clarus Ventures, a life sciences venture capital firm he joined in 2006. From 2000 to 2006, he served as President and Chief Operating Officer, and Chief Scientific Officer, at Abbott Laboratories where he had responsibility for running Abbott’s global pharmaceuticals business. While at Abbott, Dr. Leiden helped launch multiple breakthrough medicines, including Humira for rheumatoid arthritis and other autoimmune diseases and Kaletra for HIV infection, among others. He also served as a member of the Board of Directors of Abbott Laboratories and TAP from 2001 to 2006.

Dr. Leiden began his career in academia as a practicing cardiologist and molecular biologist. From 1987 to 2000, Dr. Leiden held several academic and hospital appointments, including roles as Chief of Cardiology at the University of Chicago, the Elkan R. Blout Professor of Biological Sciences at the Harvard School of Public Health and Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. During his academic career, Dr. Leiden was also involved in starting several biotechnology companies including Vical and Cardiogene.

Dr. Leiden held a number of board positions in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries, including non-executive Vice Chairman for Shire Pharmaceuticals plc and Director of Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and an elected member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. He is currently a trustee of the Brigham and Women’s hospital and a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of Boston Children’s Hospital. Dr. Leiden also serves on the board of directors for the Massachusetts Competitive Partnership (MACP) and the Boston Private Industry Council. Dr. Leiden received his B.A., M.D., and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Chicago.

Ex Officio Members

Joseph P. Kennedy III, Congressman, Honorary Chairman of the STEM Advisory Council
Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D, Chairman, President and CEO, Vertex Pharmaceuticals
Greg Bialecki, Secretary, Executive Office of Housing and Economic Development
Joanne Goldstein, Secretary, Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development
Matthew Malone, Secretary, Executive Office of Education
Mitchell Chester, Commissioner, Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Richard M. Freeland, Commissioner, Department of Higher Education
Thomas L. Weber, Commissioner, Department of Early Education and Care
Robert Caret, President, University of Massachusetts

Legislative Members

(Open), State Representative
Thomas Conroy, State Representative, Speaker of the House’s Appointee
Thomas McGee, State Senator
Karen Spilka, State Senator, Senate President’s Appointee


Ted Acworth, Founder and CEO, Artaic Innovative Mosaic
Melinda Boone, Superintendent, Worcester Public Schools*
James Brosnan, Superintendent, Northern Berkshire Vocational Regional School District*
J.D. Chesloff, Executive Director, Massachusetts Business Roundtable*
Rebecca Cusick, 4th Grade Teacher, Fall River Public Schools*
Gary DiCamillo, Chairman, Mass. Business Roundtable’s Education and Workforce Development Task Force; Partner, Eaglepoint Advisors, LLC.
Mark DiNapoli, President and General Manager, Suffolk Construction Northeast Division
Mary Grant, President, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts
John Hodgman, Professor of the Practice, Tufts University*
Bruce Johnson, Director, Technology and Innovation, MITRE
Mary McLaughlin, Vice President Greater Boston Region/South, Comcast
Ioannis Miaoulis, President and Director, Museum of Science*
Barnas Monteith, Chairman, MA State Science and Engineering Fair; Managing Partner and Co-Founder, Advanced Diamond Solutions, Inc.
Kevin O’Sullivan, President and CEO, Massachusetts Biomedical Initiatives
Zorica Pantic, President, Wentworth Institute of Technology
Joyce L. Plotkin, President, The DIGITS Project*
Marcy Reed, Senior Vice President, National Grid
Alex Sanchez, Senior Principal Systems Engineer, Raytheon Company
Yvonne Spicer, Vice President-Advocacy for Educational Partnerships, Museum of Science
Jim Stanton, Executive Director, MassCAN; Senior Project Director, Education Development Center
Michael Tamasi, President and CEO, AccuRounds
Steve Vinter, Engineering and Site Director, Google Inc.
Susan Windham-Bannister, President and CEO, Massachusetts Life Sciences Center
Christos Zahopoulos, Ph.D., Executive Director, Northeastern University Center for STEM Education
Isa Zimmerman, Principal, IKZ Advisors

* denotes membership on Council’s Executive Committee

STEM Advisory Council Staff

David Cedrone, Associate Commissioner for Economic and Workforce Development and STEM at the Dept. of Higher Education
Marybeth Campbell, Director of Education and Workforce Development, Executive Office of Education
Keith Connors, Senior Program Manager of the STEM Pipeline Fund
Adam Freudberg, Policy Advisor and Executive Director of the Military Task Force, Office of Governor Deval L. Patrick
Allison Scheff, Executive Director of STEM at the Department of Higher Education and the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council

Congressman Kennedy’s Staff

Emily Browne, Director of Communications
Nick Clemons, District Director
Eric Fins, Senior Legislative Assistant

This website is supported by the STEM Pipeline Fund, a state trust account administered by the Massachusetts Department of Higher Education to support STEM initiatives.