Early Childhood Educators Scholarship Program

Program Summary

*The following is a brief description for students. Institutions should refer to the most recent guidelines for information.

The Early Childhood Educators Scholarship Program was funded as a pilot initiative by the Legislature for the purpose of increasing the quality and availability of teachers and care providers to work with young children and youth in inclusive settings including infant/toddler, preschool and school age programs. The scholarship is designed to provide financial assistance for currently employed early childhood and out of school time educators and providers who enroll in an associate's, bachelor's or master's degree program in Early Childhood Education or related programs.

Who Is Eligible?

To be eligible for the Early Childhood Educators Scholarship, an applicant must:

  • Be a permanent legal resident of Massachusetts.
  • Be a U.S. Citizen or non-citizen eligible under Title IV regulations.
  • Have applied for financial aid, using the standard Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).
  • Be in compliance with Selective Service Registration.
  • Not be in default of any federal or state Student Loans for attendance at any institution or owe a refund for any previous financial aid received.
  • Enroll, as a matriculated student, in an undergraduate degree program (full or part-time) in Early Childhood Education, Child and Family Studies, Child Care Administration, Child Development, Child Guidance, Child Psychology, Family Studies, and Human Services is an eligible degree when it includes an Early Childhood concentration in the major.
  • Be employed, for at least one year, as an educator or provider in an early education and care program or out of school time program that is licensed or authorized by the Massachusetts Department of Early Education and Care (EEC) and continue employment in this field while pursuing the approved course of study.
  • Sign an agreement to continue employment as an early childhood educator or provider in Massachusetts upon completing the degree requirement, or repay funds as defined.
  • Not have received a prior bachelor’s degree or its equivalent.

Award Amounts

The scholarship under this program is based on a per credit rate, depending on the type of institution as provided below. Applicants may receive scholarships to assist with the cost of no more than three courses per semester during the traditional fall, spring and summer:

Institution Type Maximum award amounts
University of Massachusetts $500 per credit, maximum of $4,500 per semester
Private College/University $500 per credit, maximum of $4,500 per semester
State University $400 per credit, maximum of $3,600 per semester
Community College $250 per credit, maximum of $2,250 per semester

How to Apply

  • Complete and submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). You can file your FAFSA electronically here.
  • Create a MASSAid Student Portal account here if you do not already have one.
  • Complete the ECE Scholarship application in the MASSAid Student Portal system.
  • Applicants must have an active ECE Professional Qualifications Registry Number to be considered for the ECE Scholarship. If you do not have an active EEC PQ Registry Number, click here for the PQ Registry. 

The 2019-2020 Application will become available April 1, 2019

For More Information

Eligible Institutions

For the purpose of the Early Childhood Educators Scholarship, an eligible institution is defined as a regionally accredited public or private college or university in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts that offers an Early Childhood Education program of study or program in a related field. The following are the eligible colleges and universities:

  • American International College
  • Anna Maria College
  • Assumption College
  • Bay Path University
  • Becker College
  • Berkshire Community College
  • Boston College
  • Boston University
  • Brandeis University
  • Bridgewater State University
  • Bristol Community College
  • Bunker Hill Community College
  • Cambridge College
  • Cape Cod Community College
  • Clark University
  • Curry College
  • Dean College
  • Elms College
  • Emmanuel College
  • Endicott College
  • Fisher College
  • Fitchburg State University
  • Framingham State University
  • Gordon College
  • Greenfield Community College
  • Hellenic College
  • Holyoke Community College
  • Lasell College
  • Lesley University
  • Massachusetts Bay Community College
  • Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts
  • Massasoit Community College
  • Merrimack College
  • Middlesex Community College
  • Mount Holyoke College
  • Mount Wachusett Community College
  • Northeastern University
  • Northern Essex Community College
  • North Shore Community College
  • Pine Manor College
  • Quincy College
  • Quinsigamond Community College
  • Regis College
  • Roxbury Community College
  • Salem State University
  • Simmons College
  • Smith College
  • Springfield College
  • Springfield Technical Community College
  • Stonehill College
  • Tufts University
  • University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • University of Massachusetts Boston
  • University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
  • University of Massachusetts Lowell
  • Urban College of Boston
  • Westfield State University
  • Wheaton College
  • Worcester State University