About UsCampusesCurrent InitiativesMeetingsPolicy and Report Library Proud to Go Public! 2010 Massachusetts Student Leadership Conference: Friday, April 16, 2010

Home > 29 Who Shine > 2013 State House Ceremony

State House Ceremony

The "29 Who Shine" were honored in a ceremony on Thursday, May 2, 2013, at 12 noon at the Grand Staircase of the Massachusetts State House.

Download a PDF of the event program:

View photos and video of the event:


Charles F. Desmond, Chairman
Massachusetts Board of Higher Education

29 Who Shine Procession


“America the Beautiful”
The Allegrettos
Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts

Opening Remarks

Richard M. Freeland, Commissioner
Massachusetts Department of Higher Education

Matthew Malone, Secretary of Education
Commonwealth of Massachusetts

The Honorable Deval L. Patrick, Governor
Commonwealth of Massachusetts

29 Who Shine Awards

University of Massachusetts Awards presented by
Marty Meehan, Chancellor
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
With a special appearance by the UMass Lowell River Hawks, 2013 Hockey East Champions

State University Awards presented by
Evan Dobelle, President
Westfield State University

Community College Awards presented by
William F. Messner, President
Holyoke Community College

Closing Remarks

The Honorable Tom Sannicandro, House Chair
Joint Committee on Higher Education, Massachusetts State Legislature


A Massachusetts Public Higher Education Partnership among the Massachusetts Department of Higher Education, the Massachusetts Community Colleges, the State University System of Massachusetts, and the University of Massachusetts


Contact Us | Subscribe to Our E-Newsletter | Email the Webmaster | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Accessibility Statement

Massachusetts Department of Higher Education. All Rights Reserved. ©2000-2020
One Ashburton Place, Room 1401, Boston, MA 02108   617-994-6950