Purview of the Board of Higher Education

Independent Institutions in Massachusetts Under Purview
Out-of-State Institutions Under Purview
Independent Institutions in Massachusetts Not Currently Under Purview

Independent Institutions in Massachusetts Under Purview

In addition to the 29 public higher education institutions in Massachusetts, the following independent institutions based in Massachusetts fall under the purview of the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education:

Anna Maria College
Assumption College
Atlantic Union College
Babson College
Bay Path University
Bay State College
Becker College
Benjamin Franklin Institute of Technology (private two-year institution)
Bentley University
Berklee College of Music
Boston Architectural College
Boston Baptist College
Boston Conservatory of Music
Boston Graduate School for Psychoanalysis
Cambridge College
Charles Sposato Graduate School of Education, Inc.
Conway School of Landscape Design
Curry College
Dean College
Eastern Nazarene College
Emerson College
Endicott College
FINE Mortuary College (private two-year college)
Fisher College (private two-year college)
Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering
Gordon College
Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary
Hampshire College
Hebrew College
Hellenic College
Hult International Business School
ITT Technical Institute
Laboure College, Inc.
Lasell College
Le Cordon Bleu College of Culinary Arts (private two-year college)
Lesley University
Massachusetts School of Law at Andover
Merrimack College
MGH Institute of Health Professions
Montserrat College of Art
Mount Ida College
National Graduate School of Quality Management
New England College of Business and Finance
New England College of Optometry
New England Conservatory of Music
New England Institute of Art
New England Law Boston
Newbury College
Nichols College
Northeast Maritime Institute
Northpoint Bible College
Pine Manor College
Pope John XXIII National Seminary
Quincy College (two-year municipal college)
Regis College
Salter College (private two-year college)
Simmons College
Springfield College
Stonehill College
Tufts University
The Urban College of Boston: A Two-Year College, Inc. (private two-year college)
Wentworth Institute of Technology
Western New England University
Wheelock College
William James College *previously Massachusetts School of Professional Psychology
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute

Out-of-State Institutions Under Purview

The following out-of-state institutions fall under the purview of the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education for purposes of offering courses for credit in Massachusetts:

Bard College
Bethel University
College of Saint Catherine
College of Saint Rose
Conservative Baptist Seminary of the East
Daniel Webster
George Washington University
Johnson and Wales
Nazarene Theological Seminary
New England Institute of Technology
Nova Southeastern University
Rivier University
Saint Joseph's College of Maine
Salve Regina University
Southern Baptist Theological Seminary—Northborough (Boston) Extension Center
Union Institute & University University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
University of Phoenix, Inc.
University of Southern California
Western Governor's University

Independent Institutions Not Currently Under Purview

The following independent institutions based in Massachusetts do not currently fall under purview of the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education:

American International College
Amherst College
Andover-Newton Theological School
Boston College
Boston University
Brandeis University
Clark University
College of the Holy Cross
College of Our Lady of the Elms
Emmanuel College
Episcopal Divinity School
Harvard University
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Mount Holyoke College
Northeastern University
Saint John’s Seminary
Smith College
Suffolk University
Wellesley College
Wheaton College
Williams College
Worcester Polytechnic Institute